Who are the Board
of Assessors?

It is the responsibility of the Board of Assessors
to discover, list, value, and maintain county-
wide uniformity of property within the confines
of Brooks County insuring that the State laws
and regulations are adhered to.

Per Georgia law (GA. Code 48-5-290), each
County Board of Tax Assessors shall consist of
not less than three or more than five members
to be appointed by the County Governing Au-
thority. The Brooks County Board of Tax Asses-
sors currently consists of three members, each
serving three -year, non-concurrent terms.

Each member of the Board of Assessors must:

Take an oath of office to perform faithfully and
impartially the duties imposed upon law

Take the oath required of all public officers as
provided in Code Section 45-3-1 (Ga. L. 1913,
p- 123 4; Code 1933)

Be 21 years of age (48-5-291(1))

Become a resident of Brooks County within six
months after taking the oath of office (48-5-
291(2))

Have a high school diploma or its equivalent
(48-5-291(3))

Successfully complete 40 hours of approved
appraisal courses within 180 days of appoint-
ment (48-5-291(4))

Obtain and maintain a certificate issued by the
Revenue Commissioner (48-5-291(5))

Successfully complete an additional 40-hours
of approved appraisal courses every two years
of tenure (48-5-291(6))

e  Property Return-Real Property

Filing of these returns are optional and can
be accepted between January 1 and April 1
of each year.

Applications for homestead exemption and
agricultural covenants must also be sub-
mitted by April 1 to be applied to the cur-
rent tax year.

. Property Return-Personal Property

Filing of these returns are required and
must be submitted by April 1 of each year
to avoid a penalty.

Applications for business inventory freeport
exemption must be filed by April 1 of each
tax year in order to receive the full exemp-
tion.

e  Annual Notice of Assessments Issued

Notification of Assessments are mailed
every spring by USPS for both Real and
Personal Properties.

° Real and Personal Property Appeal

Taxpayers have 45 days from the date
printed on the Notice of Assessment to file
an appeal with the Board of Assessors.

e  Appraiser Field Visits

Appraisers routinely visit thousands of
Brooks County properties each year for
verification of existing or new construction
data, obtain exterior measurements, and
property photos.

e Timber Harvesting Permits & Reports

Timber Harvesting Permits are required for
harvesting. Timber reports are to be made
as required by state law.
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General Property Tax

Information

The Assessors’ office appraises the fair market
value of all real and personal property as of Janu-
ary 1 of each year. In Georgia, property tax is
based on it’s assessed value, which is by law
40% of the fair market value.

What kind of property is assessed?

Real property, personal property, manufactured
homes and motor vehicles are all taxable in the
state of Georgia and their valuation is solely the
responsibility of the Board of Assessors.

Real Property consists of residential, commercial
industrial and agricultural real estate and any
permanently-affixed improvements.

Personal property consists of furniture, fixtures,
machinery, equipment, inventory or any other
personal property used in business as well as
aircraft and boats/motors owned by any individu-
al or corporation.

How is real property assessed?

The Board of Assessors’ appraisal staff deter-
mine property value based on recent sales and
market conditions. Assessors utilizes three tradi-
tional approaches to value, the cost approach,
the market or sales comparison approach, and
the income approach. Each has it's advantages
and disadvantages and some are better suited to
particular types of property. Because the Board
of Assessors have value and uniformity standards
and because they are required to appraise thou-
sands of parcels, appraisers will generally use a
hybrid combination of the cost and market ap-
proach to value most properties.

Some factors that can impact an assessment are:
building size and style, basements, decks, patios, gar-
ages, number of bathrooms, fireplaces, sheds, exterior
cover, and roofing material. The quality of construction,
observed condition and age of structures is considered
and affects the value. The Board of Assessors’ apprais-
al staff rely on exterior measurements and other availa-
ble information when calculating the size and charac-
teristics of the improvements.

Whether valuing new construction or recording changes
to a property, accurate and timely data collection is an
essential part of an accurate assessment. The ap-
praisal staff makes regular onsite visits to all properties
in the county. In addition to the required visits, the ap-
praisal staff may physically inspect properties at the
owners request, when building permits are issued, as a
result of an application for specialized assessment or a
transfer in ownership.

Notification of Assessment

Each spring a Notice of Current Assessment is issued to
all property owners. If there is a disagreement with the
appraisal, an appeal may be made. Appeals must be in
writing and filed within 45 days of the date on the No-
tice of Current Assessment.

The Board of Assessors does not have any involvement
with the computation of your tax bill. Increase of esti-
mated tax is not a valid reason for an appeal of an as-
sessment.

Where do 1 go with questions

about my assessment?

o o
EH |[T|EE]|"| B | The Board of Assessors’ office is

continually communicating with
the public, answering questions
and responding to concerns
raised by taxpayers and other
community members. Anyone can examine assess-
ment records of any property at any time. It is up to
property owners to monitor their own assessments.

Taxpayers who feel they are not being assessed
fairly should meet with a member of the Asses-
sors’ office staff who can explain how the assess-
ment was determined and the methodology be-
hind the valuation.

Property records are available online at
www.qpublic.net/ga/brooks. On this site, the
public can search assess-
ment records and make
comparisons of properties
with other like properties.

What else does the Board
of Assessors’ do?

The employees of the Board
of Assessors answer questions and assist the
public with a wide range of topics. In addition to
valuation of property they are tasked with many
other responsibilities. They accept property tax
returns, process appeals of assessment, main-
taining records of property ownership, tax maps
and parcel boundaries, they accept and either
grant or deny applications for homestead exemp-
tions, agricultural covenants, and freeport inven-
tory, timber harvesting permits, timber reports
and value extraction, and maintain the exempt
property digest.

Information including the meeting schedule and
past minutes of board meetings is posted on the
Brooks County website at
www.brookscountyga.us/assessor.htmi

Also, since the responsibilities of the Assessors’
office is mandated or regulated by the State, the
Georgia Department of Revenue website
https://dor.georgia.gov/ can be a valuable source
of information.
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